The Journey is…adoption.

How Does It Feel to Be Adopted?…and various other answers to questions that inquiring minds want to know…

by Julia Freeman Davis on Thursday, January 27, 2011 at 8:06pm

I had a friend ask me to share with her “my adoption story”, she wanted to know & thought others might be interested as well…which makes me smile…

I’ve never given it much thought….because it doesn’t seem to be much of a story to me.  It’s just…my life…nothing particularly amazing here.  But REALLY it IS amazing, when I take a minute to reflect….but we’ll get to that in a minute…

So to answer her ?

PART I

This is the best I remember as told to me through the years from my mom & dad.  I haven’t been told the story in over 20 years, so I might not have all my facts straight.  My parent’s, Delbert & Carol Freeman & my sister Debbie(who was a pretty, blonde hair & blue eyed 2 year old girl & quite the center of attention on the other side of the world), were stationed in Taiwan(there used to be an Air Force Base there).  They wanted to add to their beautiful family & decided to do so through adoption.  Upon arriving at the adoption agency they said to my dad, “Since you already have a girl, I’m SURE you want a BOY right?”  To which he replied, “NO!  Boys are nasty, I know…I was one!”  They told him there was a girl available, but they would have to get right on a plane & get her then.  So off they went to get ME!  But…as they were in the air, mom could tell the plane was turning around.  I don’t remember why, but they had to go back & take another flight to the little town of Hualien in Taiwan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hualien_County  Their flight was either cancelled or delayed twice.  Once in Hualien, they saw this 3 day old, big headed baby girl.  Mom says that I was bundled up in blankets, and as she unwrapped, and unwrapped, AND UNWRAPPED…they found a little shriveled up body.  Born 6 weeks premature, breach birth & jaundice….to a little 16 year old, unwed teenager.  They immediately took me back to the base, where the Dr scolded my parents for taking me out of the incubator…onto an airplane….to bring me there!  Then he found out that I had never been in an incubator, and told them that they probably saved my life!

That was just the beginning of my wonderful, blessed life with my amazing family!  I love having a physical example of the new life we have when we are adopted into the family of God!  We take on the new family name of Jesus & receive the same benefits as the rest of the family!  I do enjoy thinking of how different my life was because of being adopted into a new way of living, how they gave me a wonderful LIFE compared to what I’m sure my life would have been like otherwise.  Almost 40 years ago, a child born out of wed lock in Taiwan was quite the disgrace!  I love the way the Lord leads & guides our lives to bring us to fulfill our divine purpose on this earth!  It’s true…the old…what you would have been is gone forever!  You are new in Christ!  I like the fact that He brought me from the other side of the world and entwined my life with you, my friends & family from all over America, and brought me to my NOW…here in Clanton, AL!….and I am glad that Mrs. Weir asked me about my story, so I could reminisce & think of the WONDER and greatness of our Heavenly Father!  Thank you!

PART II

TOP QUESTIONS or Comments I’ve heard through the years…and I honestly don’t mind answering them…so when you read this picture me with a smile on my face:

-How does it feel to be adopted?  It doesn’t feel like anything.  I was a baby.  It is what I’ve always known.

-How old were you when you were adopted?  3 days old

-Did your parent’s have to teach you how to speak English?….as in…didn’t you automatically speak Chinese when you started saying your first words? REALLY…I don’t think I’m even going to answer this one….

-You speak such GOOOOOOOOD ENGLISH!  Thank you, I try.

-Can you speak Chinese?  Yes.  I can count to 10 in Chinese & can name most dishes on the menu at your local Chinese restaurant(I was a waitress at a Chinese restaurant for a short time right out of high school…not a very good one either…but I DID look the part)

-What are you?  A person…a child of the MOST HIGH KING!  Oh, OK that’s not what you meant was it?  I was born in Taiwan…which makes me Chinese…I think.

-Do you want to find your REAL MOM?  No…I already did.  Your real parents are those that love you & raise you.  But I have entertained the thought of finding my birth mother briefly, only to let her know that I appreciate what she did & that I am happy & blessed.  If I were in her shoes, I would want to have that peace.  My mom did meet my birth mother once(she had freckles like me).  My mom prayed that the Lord would send someone to her to lead her to Christ.  I feel confident that I will meet her in heaven someday.

-YES…I DO wonder who I look like & if I have little brothers & sisters…but honestly never think about it unless someone asks.

-Did your parent’s tell you that you were adopted?  Did you know?  How did you find out?  hmmmm….have you seen a family picture?  I don’t think they could have kept it a secret, even if they wanted to!

….and I KNOW!  I look like Connie Chung, Kristi Yamaguchi, Pocahontas, Winnie off the Wonder Years, Michelle Kwan…and any other olive skinned, almond eyes, black hair person/character you have ever seen…

Do I wish I had grown up in Taiwan?  What….and missed out on all the finger pointing, push your eyes up with your pointer fingers, chinese imitating noises as I walk by, chinese people jokes(uh-oh….you forgot I was CHINESE when you told that one huh?)  No, not at all.  I think all that made me the caring, compassionate, looking for the true beauty that is shining from the inside….person that I am today.

I feel this sounds somewhat bitter…but honestly…I am not.  I was hurt when I was a kid, but I have found that the Lord heals the broken hearted.  Don’t most of us have some kind of hurt in our past that we have to purposely give to the Lord?  When the pain, anxiety, or feelings start to come back…you have to remind yourself….NO, I gave that bag of hurt with all it’s needles of poison sticking out to the Lord & he destroyed it.  He lovingly gave his peace, joy & love in return….that is the only package I receive.  The gift of His Love!  He’s such a good daddy!

What seems to be a mistake, a burden, a problem intended by the devil to destroy lives…(from the scared teenage girl who had made a mistake, the baby that seemed to be a burden(me)…to the hurtful things said by unlearned immature people)….when given to the Lord, he makes something beautiful instead.  What was designed to destroy often becomes the ministry that becomes your passion.  The joy that fills your life!

Building & valuing people…Loving them with the Love of our Amazing Heavenly Father!

That is the ministry that is dearest to my heart.

…that’s my story…and I’m sticking to it!

LOVE U ALL!!!

~Julia

Our family at my sister's wedding 2010

2010~Our family at my sister’s wedding ❤

4 thoughts on “The Journey is…adoption.

  1. This was originally written for my FB friends only…I felt that it was blog-worthy. These are the comments that followed on FB:

    Mary Tucker Weir, Angie Vernon Clark, Jeanette Cain and 3 others like this.

    Charlotte Nelson Johnson This is absolutely beautiful, Julia. Thank you so much for sharing your heart and your story with all of us! I am so proud to know you. 🙂
    January 27 at 8:11pm · Like

    Pam Harmon Wow I am amazed i had no idea this is wonderful!!! I also am proud to know you!!
    January 27 at 8:21pm · Like

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis Thank you both! It’s my pleasure to share! The feeling is mutual!
    January 27 at 8:24pm · Like

    Charles N Kim Gottshall Julia, thank you for sharing this. Your life is blessed beyond measure and you have been a blessing to many of us. My mom was Panamanian and I have been the receipent of some stupid comments and innuendos. It just reveals what is in a person’s heart.
    January 27 at 8:33pm · Unlike · 1 person

    Donna Griffin Vines Your story is a beautiful story and I’m so glad you shared it with us. Now I’m gonna make Tommy read it!
    January 27 at 8:35pm · Unlike · 1 person

    Willie Mims Wilson This is just what I needed to hear!!! This is such a sweet thing to share thank you so much!!!!
    January 27 at 8:54pm · Unlike · 1 person

    Mary Sellers Great story Julia, don’t know that I knew that. It is a greeat one, wish u the best on ur new job adventure.
    January 27 at 9:16pm · Like

    Jenny Grace Wow, I never heard your story before. That is awesome! I’m so glad that your parents were in the right place at the right time, because you have helped me so much in my young life and I couldn’t imagine life without you or Matt. I love the part where you said “What was designed to destroy often becomes the ministry that becomes your passion. The joy that fills your life!”
    January 27 at 9:27pm · Like

    Delbert Freeman
    Juju, you did pretty good, for a pointed headed kid. lol

    Seriously – you forgot to include what happened at the Navy hospital.

    The Lord’s timing is always to the second. The day we flew down and came back, we actually made that trip twice. The next day, Friday, we arrived at the airport, got on the plane and when the disconnected the ground power units, the engines died. They loaded us on another plane and we arrived in Hualien at Noon. Made a stop by the hospital where Julia was all wrapped up like an onion and had a cup of tea with the missionary. We got on the return flight at 3:00PM, arrived in Taipei and drove up to the Navy hospital at 4:25.

    There was one doctor still in the hospital, the pediatrician. When we checked in, they told it the fee was $16.00 because she was a Chinese civilian (and yes the doctor did chew us out, until he found out the conditions in the hospital we had gotten her from). We thought, fine, we can handle that. On Monday when my wife arrived at the hospital, she was informed the cost was not $16.00 a day but $126.00 a day.(remember this was 1974, and we ALWAYS had much more month than money). Carol broke into tears but said with a smile, “The Lord will find a way.”

    We had offers of aid coming from several sources. Our pastor’s wife had been waiting three years for money to buy a piano and offered that money to us. A Buddhist friend offered to help. The adoption agency offered to pay half. The US Counsel tried to help. We kept saying,”Thanks, but the Lord is doing something here.”

    Ten days later, on the day before Julia was to be discharged my wife was called into the hospital Commander’s office and told, “There is a man in Taipei who wishes to pay the entire bill and all post-natal care, but there is one requirement. You can never tell who paid it. Carol smiled and said, “Oh, we can tell Who paid it, we just cannot tell the agent He used.”
    January 27 at 9:40pm · Like · 3 people
    Linda Jarvis Russell thanks for sharing. I’ve admired you ever since I met you. You have such a wonderful, loving, spirit. I’m so glad I got to meet you
    January 27 at 10:11pm · Like
    Misti Jackson I love it! It so reminds me that God is the same everywhere, anywhere, all the time. And He makes no “throw aways”
    January 27 at 10:16pm · Like

    Kilsharion Deborah Land
    And, I’m thankful every day of my life for the joy that entered it when you came into it. Not a day has gone by, even when you were at your annoying, little sister best that I wasn’t thankful and grateful to have you as my little sister. I’ve always been proud as could be by all you’ve done. Thanks to her grace to provide an American couple the joy of a beautiful, little girl, I have had a sister that tops the charts. I could never thank her enough for such a gift.
    January 28 at 12:02am · Like · 1 person

    Kelly Kelley Beautiful. Can I share this with some friends that are preparing for international adoptions?
    January 28 at 6:32am · Like

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis
    Absolutely Kelly! I changed the privacy settings on the note so you could. There is also a video a friend posted on my wall “little esther” that they might enjoy…just get the tissues out.

    Let them know too that the love & joy of friends & family far surpass any hurtful things that I experienced. Plus, today is a different generation….from my experience, it’s not quite as bad as it was 37 years ago.

    I will respond to the rest of you ASAP, headed to work now….but have to say…I LOVE YOU DADDY & SISSY!
    January 28 at 7:15am · Like

    Teresa Hogg Thank you so much for sharing your story with us Julia. God is using you in so many ways. I am blessed to know you and to call you a friend.
    January 28 at 8:18am · Like

    Helen Carter Julia – You have been from the day you entered our family a bright spot in our lives. I forget that you are adopted – to me you were always MY niece and you always will be. I love you and thank you so much for sharing your story with such love and compassion.
    January 28 at 9:23am · Like

    Van N Joyce Headley Umm Umm Umm girl you have such an annointing upon your writings. To touch, to heal, to bring peace and joy and laughter and always bring Glory to our God our Father. I love you Ms. Julia!!!!
    January 28 at 9:42am · Like

    Lori Gray-Knight I love your story Julia. Thanks for sharing….. Makes me appreciate everything that I have as well…
    January 28 at 9:46am · Like

    Mary Tucker Weir I HOPE THAT YOUR “NOTE” GOES VIRAL
    Please, each person who reads the note posted by our friend Julia Freeman Davis, repost it on your profile.
    Her story will make you smile, it will make you cry, it will make you never doubt the wonder of God.
    January 28 at 5:03pm · Like

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis
    thank you aunt Janice for getting Julia’s phone number for me and the rest is history….. It is true that God has a perfect plan for our lives if we will trust Him. Even at 17 I knew that Julia was part of God’s plan for me. Sometimes I think about how awesome God is to orchestrate such events in my life. If God has to go around the world to answer your prayer He will. The neat thing is that I hadn’t even prayed yet when she was adopted, and I’m sure she never imagined she would end up in Verbena, AL! I love you Julia!- Matt
    January 28 at 10:01pm · Like · 1 person

    Becky Garrison Your story is very beautiful Julia. God’s grace is always Amazing. I am glad to be a part of your family’s life.
    January 28 at 10:58pm · Like

    Kim Ousley Kirkland Thank you for sharing your story, Julia. It was beautiful.
    January 29 at 7:50am · Like

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis I am at a loss for words! I have been trying to think of how to respond for the last few days. It feels so odd that at this moment, I’ve got nothing. ♥

    Thank you all for your comments, I feel so blessed!
    Thank you Alesha for sharing your story. I just love the way the Lord works!
    January 30 at 5:33pm · Like

    Amy Bruehl-Blose I loved reading this Julia. I love you and feel so blessed to have you in my life. BFF!!!!
    January 30 at 6:06pm · Like

    Kelly Jackson Wood Thank you so much for sharing. Your story is beautiful.
    January 31 at 6:14am · Like

  2. Juju, we need to update the story bit, make that refresh the story a bit. Twenty years since we told you about it is way too long. It is truly a story of wonder and glory. 🙂 But given the space on your medium, you did a very good job. 🙂

    • That would be nice daddy. You and mom need to write down or record all those stories for us! When you met, your wedding day, Debbie’s birth, when you bought momma that tv, when you rebuilt your motorcycle in the kitchen….etc, etc, etc….

  3. Pingback: Bouquet of Three Award | Mile23

Leave a Reply

