The Journey is….Valuable ~ a treasure.

Written many months ago…I am adding this to my blog today in Honor of Mr. Lemon’s Birthday!  Happy Birthday Mr. Kevin…you are a blessing!

Mr. Kevin is a…Lemon?

by Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis on Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 11:40pm

Every one of us knows a Mr. Kevin….my dad is also one of these…If you know him, you love him…or do you hate him…or maybe it’s both…it’s really hard to decide sometimes.  They have a heart of gold, and strong beliefs.  It’s in the delivery process of these beliefs that sometimes when they are done we are left feeling like….what in the world just happened here?  But when you sort it all out…they are normally correct!

Mr. Kevin once said to me when describing himself, “Not everyone likes strawberry, or vanilla….so that’s why God made chocolate”.   My first thought was,  “But chocolate is my favorite food EVER CREATED by God for us to enjoy!  Especially when it’s big chunks of it mixed in my ice cream!”  Mr. Kevin could NOT be chocolate!

But if he’s not strawberry, vanilla OR chocolate…what is he exactly?

I have come to the conclusion that Mr. Kevin is a LEMON!  On the outside it looks nice enough…but that first bite…just makes your mouth draw up just thinking about it doesn’t it?  I mean, we give it to our babies…just so we can watch the awful expression that they make & laugh at them.  Don’t give up on me Mr. Kevin…it gets better 🙂

Then again…when we gave it to Grace the first time…after that initial awful face, she LOVED IT!  One of her favorite treats when we go out to eat is eating everyone’s lemons off of their water glasses.

…and…if you think about it…you can really appreciate the Lemon & all that it ads to our culinary delights…

Sometimes that lemon needs just the perfect amount of sugar, water & ice added to it.  On a HOT Summer day, here in Alabama…a tall glass of fresh squeezed ice cold lemonade would be refreshingly delightful!  Just what we wanted!

What about the flavor it ads to our favorite foods?  Lemon Pepper Chicken, Lemon Ice Box Pie, Lemon & butter on our fish, etc. etc. etc….and my personal favorite use of lemon…lemon water…the lemon just makes it taste better!  WE LOVE LEMON!!!

Not only that…consider this!  We sometimes use Lemon as a preserving agent!  We are instructed to use lemon juice on our fresh fruit to keep it from turning brown!

I’m sure there are many other uses…but those are the first things that come to my mind.  While some people just don’t like lemon, in any form, ever…for most of us if we would take a little time to get to know the “lemon” we would embrace the very thing that upon first glance, and taste, we think we don’t even like at all.  When we take the time to understand it, we are able to see it’s value. What a variety of ways that this simple, little, yellow fruit ads so much flavor & zest to our lives!

So Mr. Kevin…and all you other Lemons out there….make no more apologies for who you are!  You are a gift to the body of Christ just as you are.  Sometimes God just has to use another person to come along & add a little sugar…or maybe He only needs a little of your citrus juices to make this particular recipe of life exactly what is needed at the time.  At times…the Lord has put you in a place with those who need you…your gifts act as a preserving agent…to keep them.

Sometimes He even needs you…just simply you…the whole fruit…because there are a few people out there who just LOVE YOU…the WHOLE FRUIT…exactly like you are!  Thank you for being the whole lemon to me…sometimes those things you have spoken in boldness are the things that I actually remember at just the perfect time.

You(Mr. Kevin) once said to me…A tree is content with being just a tree. Exactly what it was created to do…the same thing goes for the Lemon.  Be happy & content as the Lemon that God made you!

“He  makes the whole body fit together perfectly. As each part does its own  special work, it helps the other parts grow, so that the whole body is  healthy and growing and full of love.”

Ephesians 4:16

Mr. Kevin

…and if this didn’t make a bit of sense…or you don’t like it…I will gladly hit “delete”….seriously.

One thought on “The Journey is….Valuable ~ a treasure.

  1. Here is the conversation that followed:

    Micheal Dawn Mitchell likes this..

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis It also acts as a cleaning agent, and an air freshener…
    Any other Lemon uses?
    September 29, 2010 at 11:52pm · Like.

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis You can lighten your hair with lemon juice.
    September 29, 2010 at 11:59pm · Like.

    Dana Cease Very sweet and very true God made each and everyone of us different and with a gift that he placed in each of us for his purpose..
    September 30, 2010 at 12:36am · Like.

    Van N Joyce Headley
    OMG Julia….. quit your job today and I will be your agent. Your writing career is just waiting to be birthed. I am sitting here at 3:45am laughing out loud (Mr. Van will be fussing at me in a second) and crying at the same time. How true…..I could have never been able to express the significance of this man like that. Mr. Kevin…..dito.. that is exactly what makes you so unique and special. You are at your best keeping us all in line with truth like no one else I know of would dare to express. Thank you for loving me and mine enough to always be a lemon…..priceless!!

    September 30, 2010 at 3:52am · Like.

    Mary W. Land I’m sharing that one Julia AND I WHOLEHEARTEDLY agree with Joyce that you need to quit and become a writer! Send this one into Guidepost, I AM POSITIVE that it will be published and that they will ask you to write more!!!
    September 30, 2010 at 5:49am · Like.

    Kevin Cease No, dont delete it. This didnt offend me. Actually its really nice because its the truth.
    September 30, 2010 at 5:52am · Like · 1 person.

    Kevin Cease
    Ms.Julia just in case you didnt know it, lemon oil is one of the best cleaners for removing grime, dirt, grit, oil, and others from exotic and general surfaces. People who collect vintage instruments like old violins, classical instruments and guitars swear by it. The oil actually preserves the finish and brings the natural beauty of the wood out..i guess if you go deep enough you could apply that concept to people. Sometimes you have to be hard on them to bring out the best in them…I do love you and your Ms. Joycie! You folks have always treated me like I was a human being regardless…You and Pasor Matt have as well Julia….I appreciate all you folks and cherish your kindness and love….

    September 30, 2010 at 6:09am · Like.

    Marilon Seay Julia you are so awesome!!!!! You have a true gift that just bust out wn the right time to help us and I don’t think you know how many peoples you help this is so funny and true and I read mr Kevin saying all time and he be right on the money with a lot but we just got to love him he is a man that speak his mine love you mrs julia keep being use by god because you really are a gift from god for a lot of us
    September 30, 2010 at 8:12am via Facebook Mobile · Like.

    Dana Cease
    Another way of looking at this is God created us all to be different because that is how he wanted it, he took some dirt mixed it with water used his loving hands and created a mold that was perfect and then added the qualities that he wanted and the gifts he wanted each of us to have and once it was finished we all was created in his imagine. During this time he laid out a plan for us and yes some of us got lost along the way but yet he has never once given up and through his grace and mercy he is always there, he never once leaves us his hands are always there holding us up waiting for us to make the decision to choose the laid out plan he has for us. Through all of that the gifts that are in us may reach people in a way some don’t understand but yet each and everyone of us touch a person’s life and through that it may change their life forever. We all are like a tree or a flower for it to grow and become what it is suppose to be it must be fed, watered, loved and cared for, for it to become a rose that is just out of this world one that you would have never believed that would have bloomed for many thought that they wasn’t good enough or that they didnt meet the needs.. but everyone is a rose regardless of who you are, where you came from, what color you may be or what you came from.
    God created us all equal and in his eyes we are all priceless.
    He loves us regardless of what we do or say or how long it takes us to come full circle to the one thing that he created us for and the gift he give each and everyone of us to use. He is there and waiting so never give up because he hasn’t and never will.

    September 30, 2010 at 11:17am · Like.

    Marilon Seay That is well said.
    September 30, 2010 at 11:20am via Facebook Mobile · Like.

    Kevin Cease
    Ive thought about this post the entire day…..Other than it being the truth I would really like to add that it has made me humbled that someone would take the time to not only think of all of this but actually write it down…I dont apologize for who I am…Just as Paul wrote; By the Grace of God I am what I am.
    Ive lost friends over the words I have written or spoken to them. (Just like the CHAD incident.) BUt, Like one of my favorite quotes in the whole world says; “The truth will set you free but it will first pi** you off.” The ones I lost over that incident are idiots and it didnt phase me. Hopefully it done some good for him because it was written for HIM from me, done with actual concern for his future and well being.
    Thank You for writting this Ms. Julia. It has let me know that at least someone sees the “golden heart” I have for people. That one description at the begining of this struck me deeper than any of the rest, even though it all was very good… Ive worked my entire life to be just simply known as a decent man. Thank You for letting me know my efforts arent in vain….

    September 30, 2010 at 6:50pm · Like.

    Marilon Seay Mr kelvin. I think with the wisdom that you speak really help some of use. And I think you for being you and mrs julia if I had anybody to describe me it would be you it is so awesome how you word ever word again I say you have a gift and mr kevin I no you feel special for a person like mrs julia to take the time out to write this love you both
    September 30, 2010 at 7:02pm via Facebook Mobile · Like.

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis I appreciate your comments and your kind words. I will respond soon(in the next few days…kind of busy…got to go for now). I love you all!
    September 30, 2010 at 11:42pm · Like.

    Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis
    Wanted you guys to know that I just submitted Mr. Kevin’s story to Guideposts 😀 If selected I believe it will be a blessing to many…another way God would have used you, Mr. Kevin, me & the rest of you to bless others. That would be so cool!

    …and Mr. Kevin…if for no one else…the Chad incident was for ME! Yes it was rather harsh, and a little painful for all of us to read…then again, kind of funny & true. That really related to me, and you don’t know how many times I’ve thought about that silver spoon stuck up my own ***….and changed MY attitude or outlook on MY OWN situation 😀 Can you say…WAKE UP CALL? Sometimes we all need one.

    I love and appreciate you all…your love, kindness & encouragement…God is so good!

    October 5, 2010 at 11:03pm · Like

Leave a Reply

