The Journey is…Interesting ~Fred Rogers part 2

What is the likelihood of this!?!

This morning an interesting conversation with Matt caused me to think about Mr. Rogers and his teachings on feelings.  Mr. Rogers taught that it’s OK…even GOOD to feel!  (I think we, as adults…or even “Christians”…often don’t give ourselves the permission to do so.)  Matt pointed out to me….GOD gave us the ability to feel!  But it’s equally important what we DO despite our emotions.  We’ll save that conversation for another day…

This morning July 9, 2011…I quickly googled Mr. Roger’s quotes & shared them on this blog.

SO TONIGHT…I remembered that last year I had written a FB note about Mr. Rogers.  When I took a look at it…I wrote it on July 9, 2010!

Exactly one year ago, I was doing the exact same thing….thinking about & writing about Mr. Rogers!

How unlikely is that?!?  I don’t think there’s anything significant here…I just find it interesting.  Just another way the Lord found to make me smile, He does that a lot you know 🙂

From this day forward I declare July 9th…”Mr Fred Rogers Day”  🙂

 

Here is last years entry:

I’m the only one I know….

by Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis on Friday, July 9, 2010 at 2:15pm

I am the only Mr. Rogers Neighborhood fan that I know…I stand alone 😀

One of my favorite things that I did on our vacation was to read ALL BY MYSELF on the balcony of the condo…only the sound of the ocean below…..ahhhhhhh…

I was reading “Many Ways to Say I Love You” by Fred Rogers.  This book was a gift from my dad, and means so much that he would think to give it to me.  Mr. Rogers Neighborhood was my favorite show when I was a little girl…I’m sure that surprises you 😉  As I read, I could see how much of Mr. Roger’s teachings are part of who I am today, I just needed a little refresher course…and this book was just what I needed at this very moment as an adult & parent….Thanks Daddy!

This is my favorite Mr. Roger’s song:

It’s you I like.
It’s not the things you wear.
It’s not the way you do your hair.
But it’s you I like.

The way you are right now,
The way down deep inside you,
Not the things that hide you,
Not your toys-they’re just beside you.

But it’s you I like.
Every part of you-
Your skin, your eyes, your feelings,
Whether old or new.
I hope that you’ll remember
Even when you’re feeling blue,
That it’s you I like, it’s you yourself,
It’s you. It’s you I like.

There were SO MANY things in this little book that I loved!  I think the lessons apply to adults just as easily as children…
Here is a small taste:

-No  matter what the situation, if we can help children talk about their concerns and their feelings, and really listen to what they tell us, we are letting them know we care deeply about them.

– Every time we affirm how special our children are to us for being themselves, we’re helping them grow into adults who rejoice in the diversity of the world’s people.  None of us is exactly like anyone else, but one thing we have in common is our humanity, our very natural, understandable desire to know that at least somebody, ONEbody, thinks there’s something special about us, something worth caring about.

There were so many helpful lessons in this little book….I highly recommend it! http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Many-Ways-to-Say-I-Love-You/Fred-Rogers/e/9781401301705

If you are reading this, then….
…..YOU are important to ME…
no matter how brief a time you have been in my life, or if you’ve known me since I was a skinny little big headed baby in a village in Taiwan…I think you are of great value…a treasure!

LikeUnlike · · Share · Delete

    •  

      Lynn Arnold GassawayThink I’m going to have to make a book purchase.  I loved Mr. Rogers when I was little as well.  I think I would really enjoy this book.

      July 9, 2010 at 2:25pm · LikeUnlike
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis‎…and I thought I was the only one….:)

      July 9, 2010 at 2:39pm · LikeUnlike
    • Delbert FreemanJuju, its all true, “Its you I like.”LoveDad

      July 9, 2010 at 3:25pm · LikeUnlike
    • Kilsharion Deborah Land

      I was never a huge fan of the show – but, the wisdom of the man is quite profound. 🙂  I’ll tell you something…I was reading an article about the “Angel at the Bridge” in Australia…in it they were talking about those who commit suicide… and that many have no idea the number of people who are ‘saved’ from suicide by a simple smile and feeling that ONE person saw them…ONE person cared…What can one person do?  On a global scale? Maybe not so much…but on an individual scale?  We can save the world – one scarred, hurting heart at a time.  Just by caring.  Just by seeing the people around us – and reveling in their diversity, their uniqueness and the gift that having known them is to our life.
      July 9, 2010 at 3:40pm · LikeUnlike
    • Kilsharion Deborah Land http://www.cbsnews.com/sto​ries/2010/06/14/world/main​6580981.shtmlThis is the article I mentioned.

      July 9, 2010 at 3:45pm · LikeUnlike
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis

      Wow Sissy…now I’m crying…as usual.  Thanks for sharing…that means so much for a variety of reasons.  I love you & your big heart….and if the man had only saved 1…it would have been worth it…That is another thing in the book…he… talks about emotions…and how important it is to express them in healthy ways, and to teach our kids the same thing.  That it’s OK to feel sad, mad and hurt…and that if they are expressed…you can find healing….that the sadness will end eventually…and happiness will return……and I know you didn’t like “my” show…Scooby Doo was more your speed…
      July 9, 2010 at 4:03pm · LikeUnlike
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman DavisPS…I love you…AND I LIKE YOU TOO!  There’s a difference you know…

      July 9, 2010 at 4:08pm · LikeUnlike
    • Kilsharion Deborah LandYes, I do know…I like and love and admire you, too ♥Mike told me the other day “I really do like you”…meant the world!  Love hearing him tell me he loves me; but, it was nice to hear he liked me too LOLAnd, yeah, yeah…Scooby Doo rocked…but, I really loved Speed Racer!  **snickers**

      July 9, 2010 at 4:11pm · UnlikeLike · 1 personLoading…
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis‎:)

      July 9, 2010 at 4:14pm · LikeUnlike
    • Heather AlfordI loved Mr. Rogers growing up! You should research and read about him. He was really like an assassin in the army or something and the reason for all the long-sleeve sweaters was to hide the extensive tattoos covering both arms. Still love him though! In hind-sight I do kinda wonder about him and that mailman though…LOL

      July 9, 2010 at 8:39pm · LikeUnlike
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman DavisOh Mr. McFeely!  He always brought THE BEST videos for us to watch on picture picture(if I remember right)….and the assassin theory…from my research that’s just a internet rumor….

      July 9, 2010 at 10:41pm · LikeUnlike
    • Matt’n’Julia Freeman Davis‎…and McFeely was Mr. Roger’s middle name and his mother’s maiden name…(makes me thankful to be a DAVIS!)

      July 9, 2010 at 10:55pm · LikeUnlike
    • Heather AlfordWell, glad to know that was a rumor,I did like his show and my favorite part was the trolly!

      July 9, 2010 at 11:05pm · LikeUnlike
    • Amy CampbellI loved Mr. Rogers too. He made me feel like I was a very special neighbor. I used to sing his opeingin song to myself all the time as a child…”It’s a beautiful day in the neighbor hood…Please won’t you be my neighbor?” I din’t have a lot of friends:)

      July 10, 2010 at 1:20am · LikeUnlike
    • Kim Ousley KirklandI watched Mr. Rogers all the time!  Wasnt my favorite show as a kid, but was one i watched a lot.

      July 10, 2010 at 9:00am · LikeUnlike
2 thoughts on “The Journey is…Interesting ~Fred Rogers part 2

  1. I LOVED Mr. Rogers when I was a child…..i thought I was the only fan. 🙂 When I was a child my mom and dad asked where I wanted to go on vacation and I told them to see Mr. Rogers……I cried because we went to the beach instead. LOL….I was a devoted fan. 🙂

  2. Shannon…that is so cute…I can see you doing that! I think more people enjoyed him than are willing to admit 🙂
    I would have loved to have met him too!

Leave a Reply

