The Journey is….Illuminating

On this Thankful Thursday, I’m thankful for the gift of running!

il·lu·mi·nate
//
v. il·lu·mi·nat·ed, il·lu·mi·nat·ing,
il·lu·mi·nates

1. To provide or brighten with light.
2. To make understandable; clarify:
3. To enlighten intellectually or spiritually; enable to understand.

My friend, Jenny, shared this picture & the word Illuminating with me some time agoThis is a picture of the road where Jenny runs.  She tells me that this road saved her life, and I know exactly what she means!  The more I read about running, the more I see this is a common feeling in the running community.

For me, running is more than just exercising or achieving lifetime dreams & goals.  It’s time alone in the presence of the Lord.

It’s where I found answers.

It’s where God speaks to me clearly & often.

It’s where He brought healing for my broken spirit.

…and it’s where I learned to dream again…

In my darkness, He brought light…and I will forever be thankful to my loving Heavenly Father.  I’m thankful that He cares about the ONE sheep…me…only one of his many children.  How blessed I am, that He would reach out to me right where I was, expecting nothing in return.  It’s the love of God that would say to me “Get up, let’s go for a run….” 

I’m thankful that He cared enough 

to pick me up & 

lead me back into this race of life.

That’s my Jesus, full of Love, Mercy & Grace!

4 thoughts on “The Journey is….Illuminating

  1. I’m going to run with you soon and I know that God’ s going to get all up in our Run you keep runing and let him talk to you and you can help us with a lot of the Answers he give you . Can’t wait to here about your Vulcan run.I’m sure you will do great you always do.;)

    • That will be fun Mrs. Marilon! You, me & God! It’s a date!
      The Vulcan? I fell short of the the goals I set for myself again…but I still did well & I’m still in the race! I’m so excited! I’ll determine to stay focused in my training for the next one. I know I’ll be feeling your support during the race!

  2. Pingback: The Journey is…30 Days of Thanksgiving 2011 | The Journey is…

Leave a Reply

