The Journey is…30 Days of Thanksgiving 2011

Day 30:  I’m thankful that my friends were kind enough to share their thankfuls with me this Thanksgiving season.  What a blessing to see the hand of God at work in your lives as you shared from your hearts. 

As I read your thankfuls, knowing some about each of you, your unique journey of life.  I saw this quote put into action:  “Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many – not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some.” Charles Dickens

No one knows like you do, what the Lord has done for you…what a wonderful time of reflecting upon His goodness together!  Thank you so much for sharing!

Love,

Julia

Here are the rest of my Thankfuls for the month of November that I shared daily on FB…just so I can remember them in the future:

Day 29:  I’m thankful for the presence of the Lord!  The Journey is….Undescribable

Day 28:  I’m thankful for the wisdom & skill of dentists & orthodontists.  Glad to give Emmy the smile she’s always wanted…even though I think it’s perfect as is!

Day 27:  I’m thankful that Emily peeled all the potatoes for the mashed potatoes today.  I really don’t enjoy that job.  Thanks Emmy!

Day 26:  I’m thankful for friends, football, & disposable plates, bowls & cups.  *not washing dishes 2night*

Day 25:  I’m thankful for HOME….and my 5 senses.

Touch…to enjoy a hug from my sister who lives in TX now.  Sight…to see so many things that my parents have collected through the years…each w/it’s own special memory.  Hear…to hear the chimes from the grandfather clock(s) at my parent’s house.  Smell…to awake to the smell of coffee.  Since I don’t drink it, the smell always makes me think of my parent’s.  Taste…to eat the waffles that he makes every time we come home.  The same one’s in the same waffle iron that he used when I was a little girl.

Day  24:  I’m thankful for time w/the people who have known me the longest & love me the most…my family.  The gas station employees who made this visit possible, God’s protection when the driver of the little orange convertible next to us wasn’t paying attention, momma’s cooking, and stretchy pants…Happy Thanksgiving friends!  ♥

Day 23:  I’m thankful for my church family!  I’ve been trying to blog about you…just running  short on time the last few days.

Day 22:  I’m thankful that the Lord led me to this song today & that it is true for my life.When I Think About The Lord

Day 21: Can’t pick just one today! I’m thankful that the Grace & Love of God bestowed to us & at work in our lives…in turn empowers us to give this same gift freely to others.   I’m thankful for my Memaw’s crusty pound cake(if there wasn’t any in the cake plate, you could trust one was in the oven) & my Monie’s bread & butter pickles. That my Pa smoked the best smelling pipe & my grandaddy always… required us to work in the garden with him….and sweep his school bus for $1. I’m thankful for the way they would take us grandkids around town & show us off…great memories now…   I’m thankful for the opportunity to be at the back of the church during praise and worship yesterday…I don’t get to see that view often. What a blessing to see everyone praising the Lord from their heart, in their own way. What a variety of expressions, but each so sincere. That really blessed me! I am truly thankful!
Day 20:  I’m thankful that these words were hanging on my bedroom wall as a child…..If you can IMAGINE it, you can DREAM it.  If you can DREAM it, you can BECOME it.
Day 19:  If you know me….then you know my mother.  We are very much alike & I consider that a good thing since she’s one of my favorite people.  Today, I am thankful for my momma!  She taught me to pray often, love deeply, feel strongly, find beauty in the simple, that life requires creativity at times, look for the best in others & to know what you believe & stand for it.  Thanks momma!

Day 18:  I’m thankful that my sister is coming home for Thanksgiving next week!…and I’m thankful that she is back in Austin, TX & happy w/her dogs & her honey.  What a JOURNEY in life she has traveled!  I love her & am so proud of her!  Want to define STRONG?  Just look up my sister!

Day 17: I’m thankful for my dad,  Best daddy ever!
 He says I’m “endearing”…when he really means…”your personality traits are so opposite of mine that it takes much patience to be your father”.  But, he loves me anyway!  Thanks Daddy!  ♥, Bug
Day 16:  I’m thankful that there really does come a time when your life begins to make sense.  Thinking of writing a children’s book or two…Maybe I’ll name it, “Dear Olivia” (If you read my blog you would understand the name)

Day 15:  I’m thankful for PEOPLE!  The blessing of friends & family that the Lord strategically placed in my particular journey of life.  You are proof of God’s provision, goodness & love.  ♥

Day 14:  I’m thankful that my girls love each other.

DAY 13:  I’m thankful for God’s love.  I am thankful that when you believe that His love is true for you, not just everyone else…you can then learn to love others in the same way.  You are loved, you are accepted.

Day 12:  I’m thankful for the opportunity to watch my children learn & grow.

…Jessica’s out practicing driving w/Matt…Emmy’s playing the “Just Dance” game & doing great(Glad she didn’t take after me)…Grace is spelling words like firmen, wor egle, poles (firemen, war eagle, police) not bad for a 5 year old. What a blessing ♥

Day 11:  I’m thankful…just plain ole thankful.  Thankful for fun times w/my girls & their friends.  The Lord’s provision for my friend.  A babysitter for Grace, knowing she was having the time of her life!  Memories.  Laughter.  New babies with cool birthdates 11-11-11.  Smiles.  Ice Cream.  Jesus.  (Definitely not listed in order of importance.)

…and God’s beautiful moon for us to enjoy…now if I only had a porch & a rocking chair…

Day 10: I am thankful for Matt & the power of his dreams.  He changes lives every day…especially mine! He doesn’t like me to talk about him much…but sometimes I just can’t help it.  When thinking of my Thankful’s, Matt is at the top of my list.  He gave me permission to share this…and I believe it would help all who read it. The Journey is…honor.

Day 9:  I’m thankful that I cannot legally park here today…

Day 8:  I’m thankful for the power of God given dreams.
Day 7:  I’m thankful to be married to my best friend.  “Like” is not the same thing as “Love”…to have both is a blessing.
Day 6:  I’m thankful for all the people that love my kids.  Too many of you to name!   You are such blessings…life changers!  Thank you!
Day 5:  I’m thankful for…life’s moments of victory & forever memories.  Congratulations CCA Patriots!  State Champions!
Day 4:  I’m thankful that this is not my toilet.  Truly, truly thankful!  🙂  Good Morning!
Day 3:  Thankful Thursday!  Learning to dream again.  FYI: the Vulcan Run is in 1 day, 21 hours, 42 minutes 🙂 The Journey is….Illuminating

Day 2:  I’m thankful for Grace.  My daughter Grace, who thinks we gave her a great name since there are so many songs about her on the radio.  Jenny Grace who ministers to my life when she doesn’t even mean to.  She has a great last name too!…and my husband…who has drug me kicking & screaming through our journey of life. Determined to never let go. He is a living example to me of God’s amazing Grace.  I am truly thankful ♥
Thank you Tina.  & maybe I was a little dramatic in my description.  I only meant…when I have been at my worst (in attitude mostly), as I’ve matured through these 20 years….Matt has always chose to love me anyway.  Something I never have had to question, although I have been quite undeserving of his patience & love.  I tell him it was just God’s way of preparing him for the difficult customers he has to be patient with daily now.
We’ve been through a lot growing up together…it’s nice to look back & see God’s faithfulnes.
Day 1 ~ I’m thankful for our neighbors, the Hall’s.  They aren’t nosey, don’t complain about our dogs, & are there for us at a moment’s notice.  Neighbor’s make all the difference!
One thought on “The Journey is…30 Days of Thanksgiving 2011

Leave a Reply

